Tech Leaders Awards 2017 – finalists revealed

The UK’s leading celebration of the business, IT and digital leaders driving disruptive innovation and demonstrating value from technology is today revealed.

The Tech Leaders Awards, organised by Information Age and sponsored by Frank Recruitment and Dataiku, brings together hundreds of Britain’s top business and technology executives to honour the industry’s leading players across 13 categories.

The UK’s world-leading tech sector is a vital part of the British economy, with digital industries growing 32% faster than the rest, according to Tech City UK. Digital tech industries have a combined annual turnover of £161 billion in the UK, and the benefits are felt well beyond digital companies.

Nearly half of digital jobs today exist in traditionally non-digital industries and organisations in all sectors must now ingrain technology in all facets of their business or face the consequences of being disrupted.

>See also: Tech Leaders Awards launched to honour UK’s top innovators and disruptors 

The awards recognise the leading figures at the forefront of this disruption and innovation, playing a central role in helping organisations use technology to its full potential as a driver of business value, both at the top line and bottom line, as well as in the public sector to improve the lives of UK citizens.

While the awards are designed to recognise the different talent involved in tech leadership, all finalists share the same desire for using technology to disrupt industries, drive business value and find better ways of doing things.

The shortlist announced today presents 113 finalists whittled down from over 300 nominations. The winners will be announced by a panel of esteemed tech leaders at a judging day later this month. The judges are:

– Caroline Carruthers, Group Director of Data Management, Lowell Group
– Georgina Owens, Head of Digital Process Transformation, Vodafone
– Jennifer Roubaud, Country Manager UK&I, Dataiku
– Kelly Olsen, CIO, NHS Property Services
– Martin Croft, CIO, Salvation Army
– Nadine Thomson, Director of Technology, Condé Nast International
– Scott Eivers, Senior Managing Partner, Telecoms, Media and Technology, Gartner
– Simon Goodman, Head of Programme & Project Services, Network Rail
– Simon McCalla, CTO, Nominet
– Sophie Bialaszewski, Digital Banking COO, Lloyds Banking Group
– Tim Carmichael, CDO, British Army

This is a premier awards programme for the UK’s thriving IT industry, bringing together the highest achievers to honour excellence in tech leadership and showcase the powerful contributions of technology and innovation in today’s economy.

“Technology is an enormously disruptive force across practically every industry today, so it’s only right that we recognise the leaders behind that innovation, using it to drive new business value,” said Ben Rossi, editorial director at Vitesse Media, publisher of Information Age. “The amazing attributes demonstrated in the more than 300 nominations we received show Britain is truly at the heart of digital innovation today. Making it onto the final shortlist is an incredible achievement in itself and we look forward to announcing the winners on what will be an exciting evening for the tech industry next month.”

The winners will be announced at a special gala ceremony at London’s Radisson Portman Blu Hotel on 14 September, as the industry comes together to recognise tech leadership, excellence and innovation, and to celebrate technology’s growing importance to every successful organisation in the UK. Click here to book your place at the Tech Leaders Awards.

AI Leader of the Year

Benj Hosack, Foregenix
Bharat Bhushan, IBM
Kamakshi Sivaramakrishnan, Drawbridge
James Donkin, Ocado Technology
Ken Mulvany, BenevolentAI
Martin Sweeney, Ravelin
Nicole Eagan, Darktrace
Rob McCargow, PwC
Sabo Taylor Diab, Loom Systems

Business Leader of the Year

Abbie Walsh, Fjord
David Hallam, OrderWise
Elizabeth Gooch, EG Solutions
Gordon Wilson, Advanced
Helen Milner, Good Things Foundation
Ian O’Rourke, Adthena
Jan Smith, EOL IT Services
Rod Flavell, FDM Group
Seth Ravin, Rimini Street
Tim Critchley, Semafone

CIO of the Year

Alex Alexander, Yoox Net-A-Porter Group
Andrea Powell, CABI
Brendan O’Rourke, Telefónica UK
Charles Ewen, Met Office
David Ivell, Prince’s Trust
John Gibbs, Rolls-Royce
Kelly Olsen, NHS Property Services
Lyn Grobler, Hyperion

Cloud Leader of the Year

Benjamin Wootton, Contino
Ed Macnair, CensorNet
Elmar Eperiesi-Beck, Eperi
Gavin Jackson, Amazon Web Services
Glen Manchester, Thunderhead
Paul Sweetman, Ocado Technology
Pontus Noren, Cloudreach
Simon Hansford, UKCloud

CTO of the Year

Christina Scott, News UK
Helena Nimmo, Euromonitor International
Klaas Ardinois, Azoomee
Matthew Finnie, Interoute
Paul Clarke, Ocado
Phil Jones, EG Solutions
Scott Christie, Clifford Thames
Tony Richards, Securestorm

Data Leader of the Year

Dan Nelson, Ocado Technology
David Butt, Acceleration
Deema Freij, Synchronoss
Emily Mackay, TAB
Florian Douetteau, Dataiku
Katia Walsh, Vodafone
Nick Brown, GBG
Omar Khan, MECGlobal
Paul Smith, PwC
Ray Eitel-Porter, Accenture

Digital Leader of the Year

Adam Beaumont, AQL
Arabel Bailey, Accenture Digital
Bea Karol Burks, Good Things Foundation
Ricardo Sueiras, PwC
Shahid Bilal, Department for International Trade
Sharon Cooper, BMJ
Stuart Blyde, Shell
Tarek Nseir, TH_NK

Disruptive Leader of the Year

Chris McCullough, RotaGeek
Dana Tobak, Hyperoptic
Emma Margetts, Alpha Exchange
Kim Bird,
Mahiben Maruthappu, Cera
Mark Smith, Support Revolution
Michelle Huff, Act-On Software
Mohammed Zulfiquar, Datatecnics Corporation

Diversity Leader of the Year

Alysia Silberg, Acceleforce
Anne Marie Neatham, Ocado Technology
Chitra Byregowda, Mindtree
David Henderson, Global
Jane Frankland, Cyber Security Capital
Kirsty Styles, Tech North
Monica Eaton-Cardone, Chargebacks911
Ruth Harrison, ThoughtWorks
Sheila Flavell, FDM Group
Sheridan Ash, PwC

Future Leader of the Year

Adam James, Illuminas
Chloe Seddon, Accenture
Gemma Milne, Science: Disrupt
Giovanna Miritello, Vodafone
Gunita Bhasin, Deutsche Bank
Rajinder Tumber, BAE Systems Applied Intelligence
Sarah Mintey, Developing Experts
Tobi Oludayomi, Studio 14

Security Leader of the Year

Ben Azvine, BT
Colin Domoney, Veracode
Darrell Flinn, Alexander Mann
David Lacey, DLC
Edward Tucker, HMRC
Melanie Oldham, Bob’s Business
Nik Whitfield, Panaseer
Oz Alashe, CybSafe
Raj Samani, McAfee
Stina Ehrensvard, Yubico

Transformation Leader of the Year

Alison Ross, Auto Trader
Algirdas Pakstas, BCS
Andrew Parris, Tarmac
Carla Petersen, Acceleration
Jerod Powell, Infinit Consulting
Lisa Heneghan, KPMG
Patty Hatter, McAfee
Rob York, Newell Brands

Young Leader of the Year

Charlotte Murray, Good Things Foundation
Christopher Noon, Dropbox
Harry Metcalfe, DXW
Louis-James Davis, VST Enterprises
Marek Sacha, Cera
Marinathe Evangelidis, London Stock Exchange
Maxine Mackintosh, One HealthTech
Mihail Petreski, 3XP Solutions


The UK’s largest conference for tech leadership, Tech Leaders Summit, returns in September with 40+ top execs signed up to speak about the challenges and opportunities surrounding the most disruptive innovations facing the enterprise today. Secure your place at this prestigious summit by registering here

Avatar photo

Ben Rossi

Ben was Vitesse Media's editorial director, leading content creation and editorial strategy across all Vitesse products, including its market-leading B2B and consumer magazines, websites, research and...