Future Stars of Tech — finalists revealed!

Now in it’s second year, Future Stars of Tech 2019 — taking place on 27 June at The Brewery, 52 Chiswell St, London — is the most recent effort by Information Age to help tackle the technology industry’s serious lack of female representation (and gender pay disparity) at both junior and senior levels.

There is a growing effort from employers, educators and government to make technology more inclusive and close the gender the gap. However, female participation remains severely low.

Women occupy just 16% of IT jobs in the UK, making up less than 14% of CIOs, less than 10% of tech CEOs and less than 5% of board directors at tech firms. This huge lack of diversity is not only impacting innovation and decision-making in the era of disruption, but is further establishing an negative image of the technology industry for young women amid a global digital skills crisis.

Change is slow, but to expedite it, employers need to start recognising their rising female stars, and facilitate a route to senior leadership. Future Stars of Tech provides this platform for recognition through its awards programme.

Future Stars of Tech — winners revealed at inaugural event!

In our pursuit of closing the gender gap in the technology industry, we hosted our latest diversity event offering on Wednesday – Future Stars of Tech: which aims to inspire, celebrate and empower the next generation of female technology leadership in the UK. Read here

By identifying and promoting the industry’s top female career climbers, the event hopes to show diversity as a positive force, not a challenge, in the world of technology. By boosting the visibility of female talent in the first eight years of their career, women are provided with the tools and exposure to be role models to young people.

This year’s sponsors are: The London Stock Exchange, Just Eat, Rolls-Royce, Sky Betting and Gaming and J.P. Morgan.

“Today, I am delighted to announce over 100 finalists across 14 categories for our first Future Stars of Tech event, which I hope — along with our other diversity events — will catalyse a movement, making technology a more inclusive environment for women,” said Nick Ismail, content editor of Information Age.

“The Women in IT Awards — now spanning three continents (Europe, North America, Asia) — recognises the female tech leaders of today, while Tomorrow’s Tech Leaders Today hopes to inspire graduates yet to enter the industry. Future Stars of Tech is all about identifying and celebrating the next generation of female tech leaders who are already in the industry.”

The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on 27 June at The Brewery, 52 Chiswell St, London.

The shortlist

AI and machine learning

Chloe Seivwright – Apple
Jessica Leivers – BBC
Nadine Sarraf – Cookpad Limited
Sophie Skipper – Gamesys
Lauren Maffeo – GetApp, a Gartner company
Millisande Bath – IBM
Esperanza López Aguilera – Kx
Kira Kempinska – University College London & Alphamoon


Ayaka Shinozaki – techspert.io
Mireia Ruiz – Aglaris Ltd
Elin Pellas – EY
Sneha Shil – Legal Zoom UK


Arteesha Bosamia – Dentsu Aegis Network
Mia Baker – Prenetics
Udita Banerjee – Royal Bank of Scotland

Cyber security

Judith Begeer – Dataminr
Arteesha Bosamia – Dentsu Aegis Network
Rose Bernard – Digital Shadows
Sunaina Aytan – eSecure
Megan Buckley – EY
Angel Sequeira – Nomura International Plc.
Holly Walker – Procter and Gamble
Stephanie Itimi – UK Home Office

Data leader

Sarah Rench – EY
Inonge Chong – FDM Group
Polly Stewart – IBM
Christa-Awa Kollen – Just Eat
Leanne Allen – KPMG LLP
Maisie House – Transport for London

Data scientist

Kasia Kozlowska – Arup
Chandini Jain – Auquan
Rosebud Anwuri – EY
Ghida Ibrahim – Facebook
Anneline Huck – FutureLearn
Amy Khalfay – IBM
Siddha Ganju – Nvidia
Chi On Lei – Revolut Ltd


Rachel Johnson – Criton
Puneetha Bagivalu Manjegowda – Deloitte
Karishma Jootla – Ecorys UK Ltd
Chloe Spokes – Just Eat
Sonya Nadesan – Marie Curie
Holly Boothroyd – Microsoft
Sophia Chambers – Sky Betting & Gaming
Emilee Lam – Sky UK
Sylwia Duzniak – St. James’s Place

Digital leader

Rashmi Narayanan Kannankutty – Arup
Amalee Gamache – Broadplace Advertising
Charlotte Summers – Diabetes Digital Media (DDM)
Laura Marks – Enotria&Coe
Clare Bedford – Hafele
Zarna Phipps – North East Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust
Dilraj Kaur – Spark44
Verena Papik – TuneMoji

Diversity advocate

Sophie Theen – 11FS
Mivy James – BAE Systems AI
Harriet Hadley – eSynergy Solutions
Catherine VT Grayson – Fasthosts
Opeyemi Sofoluke – J.P. Morgan
Lorna Bennet – Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult
Meredith Leston – Serenity in Leadership
Rhiannon Collins – Sky
Lauren Riley – The Link App
Natalie Furness – Women in Tech Revolution


Camille Van Assel – Babylon Health
Nicola Arnold – DEFRA
Hannah Blair – Deutsche Bank & vrcalm
Smruthi Chandrasekar – Just Eat
Laura Andrews – National Grid
Loren Johnson – Schroders
Iria Maron Lopez – Vodafone Group
Sydney Smith – YNAP Group
Sabrina Ralph – Rolls-Royce

IT manager

Yemi Oluseun – Barclays
Ifeoma Odina – European Space Agency
Penny McLoughlin – KPMG LLP
Hazel Arnavutian – Lloyds Banking Group
Amy Russell – Sky UK
Julie Rennie – Wates

Public sector

Zung Nguyen Vu – Arup
Jessica Leivers – BBC
Vanita Hosanee – NHS
Natalia Kucirkova – University College London

Tech evangelist

Chanelle Pereira – Credit Suisse
Kaila Bloomfield – KPMG LLP
Ariane Gadd – KPMG LLP
Shwetal Shah – Mediacom
Allanah Green – BT
Tinu Oyefuga (Adewumi) – Qasic Enterprise
Vinous Ali – techUK
Lois Clifton – Rolls-Royce

Tech for good

Marilyn Osei-Fosu – Amtrust international
Ella Mae Lewis – Apolitical
Camilla Siggaard Andersen – Arup
Lydia Yarlott – Forward Clinical
Eunjin Lee – IBM
Rana Nofal – Ministry of Health
Melissa Thermidor – NHS Blood and Transplant
Mia Baker – Prenetics

Avatar photo

Nick Ismail

Nick Ismail is a former editor for Information Age (from 2018 to 2022) before moving on to become Global Head of Brand Journalism at HCLTech. He has a particular interest in smart technologies, AI and...