Nominations open for the Women in IT Awards 2017

Technology’s largest diversity event, the Women in IT Awards, is now accepting nominations for its third annual ceremony, which will take place in the Great Room at Grosvenor House, Park Lane, on 25 January 2017.

The second annual Women in IT Awards took place on 28 January 2016 at the Grosvenor House Ballroom on Park Lane, with 500 of the UK’s top technology leaders gathering to celebrate diversity, inclusion, leadership and IT excellence.

The change of venue allows the event to grow to 800+ attendees following another sold-out ceremony. The awards programme continues to attract resounding support from trade associations, politicians and companies of all sizes and sectors.

>See also: Women in IT Awards 2016: winners announced

The Women in IT Awards, organised by business-technology magazine Information Age, is the world’s leading event showcasing the achievements and innovation of women in technology.

It seeks to tackle technology’s gender imbalance – only 16% of IT roles are occupied by women – by identifying new role models and promoting dialogue around diversity among industry influencers.

The 2016 ceremony saw Christina Scott of the Financial Times crowned CIO of the Year, while Vodafone’s Georgina Owens picked up Future CIO of the Year, Becky Pinkard of Digital Shadows was named Security Champion of the Year, and Kamakshi Sivaramaskrishnan of Drawbridge won International Star of the Year.

Melissa Di Donato of Salesforce triumphed as Business Role Model of the Year, Amy Wettenhall of Ericsson was named Business Leader of the Year, and Ursula Morgenstern of Atos took the Woman of the Year gong.

Meanwhile, FDM Group was victorious in the Advocate of the Year category, Apps for Good was awarded with e-Skills Initiative of the Year, and Big White Wall won Innovator of the Year. IT Transformation of the Year went to O2, while Greater Manchester Police scooped the Deployment of the Year award and PCA Predict won Editor’s Choice.

All of these awards will again be up for grabs at the Women in IT Awards 2017, as well as new categories for Entrepreneur of the Year, Rising Star of the Year and Employer of the Year.

>See also: Women in IT Awards winners revealed at glitzy ceremony

“It has been a real privilege seeing the Women in IT Awards grow in both scale and influence over the last couple of years and we’re excited to announce its return for 2017,” said Ben Rossi, editorial director at Vitesse Media and creator of the Women in IT Awards.

“We have been delighted to see the ceremony become such a significant date in the technology calendar, when IT leaders comes together to not only celebrate some incredible women in their industry, but also highlight the importance of diversity in allowing companies to reach their full potential.”

The nominations period will now be open until 19 August 2016. There is no cost to nominate and no limitations on the number of categories somebody can nominate for. All nominations are submitted through the website, where each written submission should be at least 600 words and a maximum of 1,000 words.

Avatar photo

Ben Rossi

Ben was Vitesse Media's editorial director, leading content creation and editorial strategy across all Vitesse products, including its market-leading B2B and consumer magazines, websites, research and...

Related Topics

Information Age Awards