Women in IT Awards Asia 2019: shortlist revealed

The shortlist has been announced for the inaugural Women in IT Awards Asia.

Dubbed, the smart nation, Singapore is the ideal location to kick off the Women in IT Awards’ first foray into Asia, but the event will move across the continent in the coming years.

More than 300 business and technology leaders will descend on The Shangri-La hotel on 29 May 2019.

The awards programme, organised by Information Age, is the leading initiative among extensive efforts from the tech world to rectify a gender imbalance that means women occupy just 30% of tech roles in Singapore — this figure fluctuates across the continent, which is unsurprising given the size and variety of countries.

The Women in IT Awards Asia is part of the Women in IT Awards Series, which has established events in Ireland, San Francisco, New York and London. And, planned events in Berlin, Bucharest and Toronto.

The series is part of an ongoing Information Age campaign to tackle technology’s diversity problems. We currently run two further diversity events in the UK: Tomorrow’s Tech Leaders, a careers fair for female university students, and Future Stars of Tech, which identifies and promotes the industry’s top female career climbers.

And at this year’s Women in IT Awards New York, we hosted our first Women in IT Summit — which focused on emerging technologies and the importance of diversity in tech.

The winners of the Women in IT Awards 2019 UK are revealed!

Over 1,200 business and technology leaders gathered at the world’s largest tech diversity event in London last night as award winners were crowned across 21 categories. Read here

Through a series of 14 awards, the Women in IT Awards Asia will showcase the achievements and innovation of women in technology and identify new role models for the younger generation of female talent.

Joining as sponsors of the inaugural Women in IT Awards Asia are; BP, DiversityQ, FirEye and Hays. The event is supported by the Singapore Computer Society, and we’d also like to thank our media partners:

She Loves Data
Singapore Council of Women’s Organisation
Singapore Women in Science Network
Tech Ladies
Women Who Code

This year’s awards attracted over 400 nominations, which for the inaugural event on the other side of the world is astonishing. And Information Age would like to extend a huge thank you to the judges who went through these to decide the eventual winners:

Christine Amour- Levar, founder & CEO — HER Planet Earth
Janet Ang, chairman, Institute of System Science (NUS)
Andrew Au, CEO & co-founder – AGDelta
Dr Yoke Sin Chong, chief (Enterprise Business Group) — StarHub
Audrey Kuah, managing director — Dentsu Aegis Network Global Data Innovation Centre
Howie Lau, chief industry development officer — IMDA
Jacqueline Poh, deputy secretary – Prime Minister’s Office Strategy Group
Professor Lim Sun Sun, head of Humanities, Arts & Social Sciences
Lim Khiang Tong, head Group Operations & Technology — OCBC Bank
Mark Wightman, partner APAC Wealth & Asset Management Advisory Leader — EY
Choy Peng Wu, chief technology officer, GIC
Jessie Jie Xia, managing director (South East Asia) — ThoughtWorks
Patricia Yim, general manager — IBM ASEAN
Peter Yuan, head of Technology (ASEAN) — Accenture

“The problem of a lack of diversity in technology is that it’s not limited to the UK,” said Nick Ismail, Content Editor, Information Age.

“It is important that, following our events in Ireland and North America, we continue to expand this initiative across the world, starting with Singapore. Tech has the ability to transform business and society, but if only one gender is represented the problems become clear… Improved levels of diversity in tech will not only create a fairer society, but also improve levels of innovation and success for technology companies (which is a pretty broad category now!)”

“Today, I am delighted to announce the finalists of our first diversity event in Asia. Congratulations to all the finalists, and best of luck on 29 May 2019.”

Click here to book your place at the Women in IT Awards Asia.

Women in IT Awards Asia shortlist

Advocate of the Year, sponsored by BP

Sujitha Karnad, Sekai Solutions
Meggy Chung, Citibank.
Priyanka Ashraf, ConsenSys Australia
Rubi Saini, HOOQ
Hayden Majajas, Paypal
Padma Reddy, Software AG
Hui Ping Tay, Cisco Systems
Imane Jamal Eddine, Oracle
Amra Naidoo, Accelerating Asia

Business Leader of the Year

Renee Lo, Amazon Web Services
Sarah Wu, First Data
Tina Wyer, J.P.Morgan
Nicole Poon, UpCode Academy (formerly at MatchMove Pay)
BJ Burlingame, SAP
Anneliese Schulz, Software AG
Wendy Tsng Wen Chyi, BP
Neha Singla, GOOGLE
Devangi Kamra, Equal Experts
Fatima Said, eWave

CIO of the Year

Sophia Leung, J.P. Morgan
Jenny Tan, pwC
Lilian Tham, Schroders
Mui Kim Ang, Government Technology Agency
Sor Hoon Tan, Government Technology Agency
Rashmi Kwatra, Sixteenth Street Capital
Nikki Tan, Mercedes-Benz Financial Services
Stacey Lacy, Citibank

Data Leader of the Year

Grace Heny, 168Solution
Shehara Viswanathan, Cisco Systems
Nelly Jimron, MatchMove Pay
Jana Marlé – Zizková, Meiro
Barkha Jasani, Quadrant
Meri Rosich, Visa
Rachael Wang, JLL
Sunita Kannan, Accenture
Quitterie Marque, International SOS
Nikita Gupta, TBWA

Digital Leader of the Year

Nicole Leong, Airbus
Ahu Suzer, British American Tobacco
Daisy Wu Kedi, BP Castrol
Julee Hyunju Lee, Facebook
Krisha Dy, Frieslandcampina
Tancy Tan, J.P. Morgan
Anamika Talwar,Mercedes-Benz Financial Services
Juliana Chua, NTUC Income
Cynthia Jee Yoon Kim, Venuerific
Janelle Lee Jiaxin, Bantu

Diversity Initiative of the Year

Coding Girls
She Loves Data
SHE Blockchainers
The Codette Project
Half the Sky Asia

Employer of the Year, sponsored by Hays


Entrepreneur of the Year

Dr. Lindy Ledohowski, EssayJack
Kavita Jha, KiksAR
Hazel Savage, Musiio
Joelle Si Ning Pang, Singapore Press Holdings
Clare Markham, Startuptoken
Rinat Homossany Perry, Styleclueless
Vivien Koh, VK Transformation
Li Rong Teh, The Influencer Network
Jayantika Soni, Resync

Future CIO of the Year

Annie An, Amazon Web Services
Neha Singla, GOOGLE
Pei Ying Chua, LinkedIn
Federica Diletta Peloso, ICC Academy
Ching Wan Chiang, BP
Garima Singh, J.P. Morgan
Jia Xuan Lim, Codomo
Estelle Kee, Hilti
Leeyoung Song, Airbnb
Supriya Aggarwal, Apple

IT Team of the Year

Bank of America
Equal Experts
J.P. Morgan
Turnkey Lender
Amazon Web Services

Security Champion of the Year

Mary Janice G Aljecera, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Simran Gill, BP
Daisy Wu Kedi, BP Castrol
Christine Joy Matuto, Fujitsu
Jiahui Tang, GOOGLE
Monisha Oberoi, IBM Singapore

Transformation Leader of the Year

Lizaveta Ryzhanovich, EPAM Systems
Akina Ho, Great Eagle Holdings
Anna Choi, Schindler
Ayten Ozenc, Toll
Anamika Talwar, Mercedes-Benz Financial Services
Carolyn Chin-Parry, Prism
Zhang Yan, ST Engineering
Siew Choo Soh, DBS Bank
Beena Kumari, National Metallurgical Laboratory
Imane Jamal Eddine, Oracle

Woman of the Year

Kavita Bhanwadi, Barclays
Smita Gupta, Finastra
Lalitha Biddulph, J.P. Morgan
Damini Gupta, Mphasis Next Labs
Yuree Hong, SHE Blockchainers
Pin Chin Kwok, Savonix
Carolyn Chin-Parry, Prism
Elena Ionenko, Turnkey Lender
Mona Nyachhyon, LogPoint
CJ Meadows, S P Jain School of Global Management

Young Leader of the Year, sponsored by FireEye

Antima Sharma, Barclays
Maria Soledad Riestra, Ecoed Life
Melissa Lou, Delegate
Shikha Gupta, eTraverse
Shuang Gao, J.P. Morgan
Shwetha Ravi, Learnseeker
Sona Jain, Microsoft
Blessie Villegas, Safran
Ruth Retno Dewi, Smartfren

Avatar photo

Nick Ismail

Nick Ismail is a former editor for Information Age (from 2018 to 2022) before moving on to become Global Head of Brand Journalism at HCLTech. He has a particular interest in smart technologies, AI and...