Women in IT Awards Asia shortlist revealed

The Asia edition of the Women in IT Awards will be presented in an online ceremony on the 26th October, in the aim to recognise advocates, role models and allies that are looking to break down barriers for women in the tech industry.

The ceremony will be the third of four awards events planned for this year, the UK edition having happened back in June, while the USA and Ireland awards are scheduled to commence on the 21st September, and 7th December respectively.

According to a report by The World Bank, women make up less than 40% of the total global workforce, and despite diverse organisations being found to perform better, hire better talent and have more engaged employees, women remain widely underrepresented in IT roles.

These figures demonstrate the need for continued recognition of women in tech and their successes, which the Women in IT Summit and Awards Series has looked to facilitate since 2015.

The shortlist for this year’s Women in IT Awards Asia is as follows:

Advocate of the Year (sponsored by HSBC)

Elaine Liew, AWS
Erin David, JLL Australia
Jennifer Spano, Big Data Exchange (BDx)
Joie Bose, The WIT Network, PwC India Acceleration Center
Michelle Mannering, GitHub
Nishana Samarawickrama, Pearson
Romi Dexter, Hype & Dexter
Shelley Ding, Aptiv Electric Distribution Systems Co. Ltd
Tracy Quah, Informatica
Von Leong, Purpose Venture Capital

Data Leader of the Year

Rajneet Kaur – Persistent Systems
Sonal Jain – Validus
Nidhi Agrawal – Standard Chartered Bank
Mona Agarwal – Pearson
Soumya Prasada – IBM India Software Labs
Nabila Hadjkali – JLL Singapore
Fanly Tanto – PT Cloudera Technology
Karisse Garcia – JLL Philippines
Nathapak Pisuttunusart – JLL Thailand
Amelia Wee – JLL Singapore

CIO of the Year

Joyce Shia, NETS
Kathleen Stubbs, JLL Australia
Michelle Wu, Ingram Micro
Sathidevi Sreeraj, Randstad India Private Ltd
Shui-Min Tan, NUS Information Technology
Yessie Yosetya, PT. XL Axiata

DEI Initiative of the Year

Allyship Program: Activating Allyship & Inclusion, Microsoft APAC
Forward Program, Accenture Southeast Asia
She Builds, Amazon Web Services (AWS)
Supporting People with Disabilities (PWD) Initiative, Accenture Southeast Asia
BeingWISE (Women Innovators, Social-leaders and Entrepreneurs), Intel
Vapasi, a #TalkTechToHer Initiative, Thoughtworks

Digital Transformation Leader of the Year

Dr. Beena Kumari, CSIR-National Metallurgical Laboratory
Christina Gao, Shell
Daisy Wu, Chevron
Geetha Ramamoorthi, SNCLavalin
Gwendolyn Koid, Schneider Electric
Juliana Chua, Essilor Group
Naomi Rajendram, Accenture Southeast Asia
Netty Susanty, MatchMove Pay Pte Ltd
Rachel Tan, Oracle
Shanthi Chandrasekar, Bahwan CyberTek

Education and Training Initiative of the Year

Sisters of Code, IT Academy STEP Cambodia
IMPACT 2020 – WIT Hack at Home Program, Pearson
Supporting People with Disabilities (PWD), Accenture Southeast Asia
FO-Tech Connect, Bank of America

Employer of the Year (sponsored by JP Morgan)

Alibaba Cloud Intelligence International Business Unit
Love, Bonito

Entrepreneur of the Year

Debra Taylor, OpenSparkz / PAX Technology
Hazel Savage, Musiio
Jennifer Zhang, WIZ Holdings Pte Ltd
Jennifer Lauretta Leong Bee Yoong, 360 Smart Home
Muskan Bhatia, Ed Aura Technology

Innovator of the Year

Bell Beh, BUZZ AR
Debra Taylor, OpenSparkz / PAX Technology
Ekta Gupta, MatchMove Pay Pte Ltd
Fan Yang, Munich Re
Joey Lim, Lark
Kaus Manjita, Mason
Michelle Mannering, GitHub
Rama Sridhar, Mastercard
Renee Welsh, Embed
Prachi Shah, Software AG

IT Team of the Year (led by a woman)

Joyce Shia, NETS
Kitty C K Yeung, HSBC
Piumie Rodrigo, Pearson
Richa Arora, JLL Singapore
Selina Yuan, Alibaba Cloud Intelligence International Business Unit
Shailaja Nair, Ingram Micro
Teena George, Hoolah

Male Ally of the Year

Ben Chan, Microsoft Corporation
Diyath Ariyaratne, Pearson Lanka (PVT) Ltd
Dzaharudin Mansor, Microsoft Corporation
Ganesh Baliga, Citi
Mark Micallef, Cloudera Singapore Pte Ltd
Puneet Chandok, Amazon Internet Services
Ramakrishna Purushotaman, CIO Academy Asia
Richard Lord, HSBC
Shehan Kumar, Federation of Information Technology Industry Sri Lanka

Next Generation Leader of the Year

Aditi Agarwal, ThoughtWorks
Ann Cher Toh, HomeBase
Li Shing Chan, Microsoft
Mahe Zehra Husain, FiveRivers Technologies
Regine Chan, Generation Z / General Atlantic
Ruth Retno Dewi, PT Bukalapak.com
Shakthi Priya Kathirvelu, Funding Societies, Modalku Group
Shruti Choudhary, Intel
Sona Jain, Microsoft
Surangi Nethsinghe, Pearson Lanka (PVT) Ltd

Outstanding Contribution of the Year

Abolee Kale, HSBC
Ankita Srivastava, HSBC
Dr. Beena Kumari, CSIR-National Metallurgical Laboratory
Jayshree Dawrewar, InfoCepts
Jenny Tan, CapitaLand Group
Neethu Varghese, JLL India
Rajitha Vajiramali, Pearson Lanka
Sewmi Rajapaksha, Pearson Lanka

Security Leader of the Year

Alexandra Mercz, Gojek
Amy Sittler, Bank of America
Kimberly Chow, Amazon Web Services (AWS)
Mansi Thapar, Jaquar Group
Neha Malhotra, Credit Suisse

Tech for Good Award of the Year (sponsored by BP)

Cindy Kua, Sunday Ins Co. Ltd
Hapinnoy Microventures Inc.
Jennifer Lauretta Leong Bee Yoong, 360 HealthTech Pte. Ltd.
Neha Agarwal, KPMG
Nelly Jimron, MatchMove Pay Pte Ltd
Pragati Gokhale, Rajiv Gandhi Science & Technology Commission
Regine Chan, Generation Z / General Atlantic
Tanapol Krailasrantanasiri, ThoughtWorks
Tech Mahindra

Woman of the Year

Anna Green, Amazon Web Services (AWS)
Debra Taylor, OpenSparkz
Ding Shelley, Aptiv Plc
Renee Welsh, Embed
Romi Dexter, Hype & Dexter
Tracy Quah, Informatica
Verena Siow, SAP Asia Pte Ltd
Von Leong, Purpose Venture Capital
Yashu Kapila, BugRaptors
Yessie Yosetya, PT. XL Axiata

To watch the Awards Ceremony on Tuesday 26th October, register for a free place here.

Avatar photo

Aaron Hurst

Aaron Hurst is Information Age's senior reporter, providing news and features around the hottest trends across the tech industry.